It is a truth universally acknowledged

... that a post op patient in a hospital bed must be in want of a good book. 

A whole day a-bed waiting for the surgeon to declare me cured and instruct me to leave my bed and walk - but it was almost 16.00 before he did so, some lame excuse about performing consecutive, multiple surgeries all day long. Miracle man. Anyway, having got the all clear I moved in record time, the school driver collected me (for which I was extremely grateful - finding a taxi in pouring rain on Friday afternoons in Istanbul is almost impossible) and brought me home via the pharmacist to buy a basket full of drugs, and consequently, was indoors before 17.00. Yay.

Despite the heavy rain, it was liberating to see a grim but still just about blue Bosphorus as we drove home. Freedom, even from just 27 hours incarceration, thy symbol is window. There was (unusually) none in my hospital room, and although the room was large, ensuite, a marvel of C21st architecture, and even gave me a satisfactory photo for Abstract Thursday yesterday; the sense of isolation in a windowless room added to my restlessness as I waited out the day. Fortunately, I had the company of Elizabeth Bennet, Mr Darcy, and other characters, all of whom must always bring comfort and entertain me regardless of how oft I revisit their story. Apparently,  temporarily affects my vocabulary too. 


Thank you to everyone for your kind wishes yesterday, much appreciated.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.