Oh Happy Day!

First and foremost - a wonderfully gorgeously marvellously sunshiny day.  The first of those for quite a while.  Energising, endorphin releasing sunshine. Yay.

After a delicious late lunch in Besiktas at a place near the waterfront  that I've never tried before, but will certainly revisit, Graham and I took a ferry to Kadikoy on the Asian side of Istanbul.  I haven't done that for ... well, a long time, and I spent the journey taking photos of the beautiful blue Bosphorus and European skyline (extra).  A couple of happy hours passed wandering the bustling, crowded narrow market streets - fish, fruit, veg, dairy, spices, nuts, clothes, cafes,..... on and on, including perhaps the most colourful range of olives I think I've ever seen!  (extra).  

Leaving Kadikoy (extra), the gulls enjoying the view (extra) as the sunset behind the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia filled the skies with magnificent colour and so another stream of photos taken.  Almost impossible to choose just one pic for the day, but it has to be the iconic skyline silhouette of Istanbul at sunset - but the Blue Bosphorus, European shore, Asian shore, multicoloured olives and super sociable gulls make my first highlights/extras album of this new decade.  Now what to do with the gazillion other photos I took?

Once back in Besiktas, we had a couple of beers at Joker 19 - Graham's last opportunity this time round as he drives down to Akbuk tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.