Remembering Sam

G. and B. recently sent me a message telling me that Sam, their eldest daughter had died just before New Year's Eve. It was sad news but not unexpected. 

I drove early this morning to attend the funeral near Walsall. Afterwards her friends and family, including her children and grandchild, who had gathered from far and wide shared memories of her life. 

I first knew Sam in the early 1970s when she was just a few years old and was introduced to her parents through friends. We've stayed in contact ever since, and they welcomed 'Woodpeckers' and I to their house in Spain last summer.

A few old photos and cards had been laid out on a table for us all to look at. I knew immediately that B. had made these two black and white prints of Sam and her younger sister R.. B. told me she had photographed and printed them at Thorpe Top, their home in Lincolnshire probably in the mid 1970s.

As soon as I saw the prints I knew that I'd blip them as a reminder of Sam, as I remember her.

RIP 
Sam G. 1967 – 2018

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.