Hail to Wassail Stroud 2020

Today I’ve been back at The Shambles indoor market all day, which started slowly but perked up after the early morning rain passed over. The town has been the centre for the annual  Wassail Festival, which I usually go out onto the streets to photograph. There is always a procession around the centre of the town which is always lively and colourful.

I missed the procession today as I couldn’t leave my stall for more than this five minute period just after the lunchtime rush. I rushed out through the outdoor section of the market and followed the sound of bells, singing and shouting and a whistle to where The Shambles leads off the High Street. This spot is always a gathering place for town centre events, protests and street theatre, and today this is what I saw. At least I got a flavour of the atmosphere in town.

Looking back down The Shambles, this group I’ve photographed at the finale of their short dance are called the Bedcote Morris. They are one of many Sides, Mummers groups and related Wassailing traditionalists who’d come from all over the country to celebrate this day. This link to Stroud Wassail shows a thumbnail of all the various contributors, and gives links to their own websites. 

Bedcote Morris are a mixed sex Cotswold Morris side (that’s team to you and me!) from Stourbridge in the West Midlands. Founded in 1991, Bedcote Morris perform many dances from different traditions including:
Adderbury, Oddington, Lichfield, Bledington, Hinton in the Hedges, Fieldtown, Abingdon, Upton-upon-Severn.

The main aim of the side is to have fun and provide colourful entertainment, whilst at the same time, preserving some of our rapidly diminishing English folk traditions.

‘Bedcote’ is the name of the feudal manor which eventually went on to become Stourbridge!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.