Iris 'Harmony'

I think these flowers speak for themselves. What a delight to see their colours, their shapes and intrepidness for blooming brightly in just the second week of January.

They have appeared from the collection of bulbs which I bought the Christmas before last from Chris, one of my fellow stallholders at Minchinhampton Market. She buys a range of bulbs then pots them up in a large clay pot altogether, for them to appear in a succession. Last year they did exactly that and they gave us a magnificent display over months, which I recorded in my blips. I left the pot alone and stopped watering it in the late spring just allowing the inclement rain to provide sustenance. I'm wondering if they will have produced off spring at all and whether some may not have survived. We shall see. These are a bonny start. Last year I blipped them on the eighth of February.

(Today it was rather breezy and cold. Looking at my settings I rather regret not having used a faster shutter speed as they are a bit soft).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.