Music Practice

This morning I started the day by watching this video sent to me by Honeycombebeach last night, having seen it on another blip yesterday. It is very inspiring and if you have 40 minutes, I recommend watching it.  It basically talks about the fact that all our lives we are told we aren't enough and we constantly tell ourselves the same thing. By telling us we are enough every day, we can change our belief and be happy. 

I have been saying it to myself all day, whenever the usual self criticism and doubt creeps in, and also when I have been subject to criticism by others. I urge you to watch it.

Anyway, I digress.  After the video I went for a short run and happened to bump into my mum walking her dog so I stopped to chat to her briefly.  Then after lunch I decided to get on with some music practice.  An hour and a half later when my fingers were getting sore I called it a day! I made huge progress though in re-learning some of my old grade 8 pieces which are going well, including this piece I have photographed.  You may not know what it is from looking at it, but if you listen to it, you are likely to recognise it. It is unaccompanied and so very exposed and I remember learning it almost off by heart for my exam.  And strangely, 20 years later some of the fingering is still ingrained in my muscle memory!

I also practiced a little bit of Elgar and some of my duets which we will be rehearsing tomorrow.  

Today's quote:
"If you surrender completely to the moments as they pass, you live more richly those moments," Anne Lindbergh

This is so true and when we become more able to pull our attention back into the moment, notice when our minds wander and we get distracted, we are more able to live in the moment.  How do we get better at it? practicing focused attention meditation. Mindfulness at its core. 

This evening I am sat on poolside later than usual (7.30-9) for my son's swimming so I am catching up on some blips!! I hope you have all had a lovely day!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.