O.L.A.F.

By AndyG1982

Year Of Dates 2019 Date 1

So last year we  doing year of dates, a small black box filled with sealed envelopes, and withing those envelopes is an activity you have to do together. It's pretty fun. But then holidays, and other commitments and then christmas just got in the way. One of our resolutions this year is to commit to year of dates.
This weeks card was Visit a Museum. So we decided on a road trip to Dundee to see the (relatively) newly opened V & A museum.

I had been discussing my plans to visit Dundee at work the other day when my Dundonian colleague made a couple of recommendations of other places to visit while in that neck of the woods. One that stood out was Pacamara, apparently has the best coffee in the city. not wanting to miss out on the best of anything, myself and Mrs G awoke early and decided to get drive down early to try out this famed cafe and get breakfast there too.
It was brilliant, by far and away the best breakfast i've ever had. Ever! And i have had some breakfasts! I loved it so much it has inspired me to start another new years resolution. (actually i stole this one from Mrs G but it's a good one). Everywhere of note that i visit, i will leave a trip advisor review. You can read my review HERE.

If you are ever in Dundee i strongly recommend you visit this cafe. It's phenomenal! 

After leaving the cafe, we tried to work off our breakfast with a walk along the water front towards the museum.

The sun was shining and it was surprisingly un-wintery. It genuinely felt like we were on holiday.

The museum itself was really interesting. there was an exhibition on Ocean Liners and having spent a couple of years working on the QE2, i was feeling very nostalgic by the end. Well worth a visit. You can read my trip advisor review on the museum HERE, if you want.

We deliberately parked about a mile from the museum, in an attempt to increase our step count for the day, it's not easy hitting 10K steps every day, especially when you are in  car for a couple of hours. However upon returning to the car i was annoyed to discover that i had only walked 8500 steps, and this simply would not do, so i demanded we go exploring 1500 steps down a street. Mr's G hit 10K after a few minutes, (she has littler legs than me), not wanting to make her walk on just for me, we turned around and headed back to the car park. By the time we reached the car i was at 9600 steps. I don't know why, but i refused to get in the car until i hit my 10K. I was still going to walk when i got home, but i just had it in my head i would have hit it by now and i refused to leave Dundee without hitting 10K steps for the day. So i walked round the car park three times while Mrs G sat in the car. A few minutes later we my fitbit started vibrating, 10K ahd been hit, and we could head home.

Mrs G drove and i wrote my trip advisor reviews and looked for cheap stuff on E-bay. When we got home, i realized that i had not committed to resolution 13 : Go on the Cross Trainer once a week. So while Mr's G made her signature Chilli, i spent 25 minutes on the cross trainer. To keep entertained while cross training i started watching Bo Jack Horseman. An netflix animated show about a horse from an 80s sitcom trying to make a comeback. it's hilarious and kept me distracted from my exercise, which is just as well as my legs were starting to get soar.

Later on another envelope from the year of dates was selected at random. It's genuinely exciting opening it every week as you have no idea what could be in there. The small black box filled with coloured envelopes controls our destiny.  Next weeks date has been decided, Star Gazing. 
Should be interesting given the weather. Might need to be creative.

it's an exciting week ahead

Monday : Meat Free Monday. My turn this week, I have a new recipe up my sleeve. Plus i have to do Run 7 of couch to 5K

Tuesday: I start my evening class in creative writing.

Wednesday: Run 8 of couch to 5K, and the latest Episode of The Flash

Thursday: Mrs G starts her night class in Photo Editing. I'll stay in and probably watch Stargate.

Friday: Our first Gig of 2019: Flo and Joan

Saturday: Run 9 of couch to 5K, and a trip to the new Brew Dog @ union square for wings and beer, followed by a trip to the cinema.

Sunday: Unknown.

And somewhere during that week, i've got to fit in another go on the cross trainer and star gazing.

Also, work. Which no one really wants to mention.

Wow. I really wrote alot more than i thought i would here.

I wonder if anyone will read everything?

If so, the code word is Bacon!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.