Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

Helping Hands

We've recently got back into composting the fruit/veg leftovers. Considering the sheer amount of fruit and veg we go through, I thought it pretty important we did so....

Anyway, I "suggested" to the kids that taking the colander down to the compost bin each day be their job - and was pleased that they agreed, with great enthusiasm. Today's colander was rather full, but Mstr 5 was very confident he could manage. I asked Miss 6 to help him with the compost bin lid, and she agreed with a great shout. Off they toddled together, and I grabbed the camera. I really like the photos I got of the two of them walking together down the lawn, being happy and helpful - and together.

Larger here.

Miss soon-to-be-seven is singing to herself in bed: currently she's on the Imperial Death March from Star Wars; before that was "Monday, Tuesday Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday. I looooove you!" ;-)

Cheeky little basket went into our room and scoped out the bag of books I brought home today as one of her birthday presents. We had a little talk about how that spoils the surprise, and it's much better to be patient and let the anticipation build...

... And she paid perfect attention and understood completely and will be patient forevermore from this day forth...

HahahahahahaNO

As well as wrapping all her presents for tomorrow, we wrapped up the 'pass the parcel' for her party on Sunday. I hate that nowadays it seems one has to have a "prize" in every blinking layer. I hate that it just buys into the unrealistic bizarre "everyone's a winner" bollocks pervading society. I wonder if we're actually underestimating the resilience of these kids: maybe they wouldn't get distressed by having the same pass the parcel experience we all had... But if I'm wrong, it wouldn't just be them getting upset (which doesn't bother me overmuch xP ), but it would make my daughter a pariah, as word got around about how stingy her party was. So grrrrrrrrr, I am forced to buy into the materialist over-egalitarian everyone wins crap.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.