A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

St Saviour's Church

One Street 3

Standing above the junction of Long Lane with Keighley Road is the 120 year old church that serves the community of Harden.

Anyone who follows my blips will know that I go to church here where I sing in the choir. My children attended Sunday school here and my daughter will be married here next August. You will also know that we have had controversial inside changes with the removal of the pews and the installation a new heating system (which failed to work last week!)

It isn't very old but it is a lovely little Victorian church. I chose this view as you can see the traditional Yew Tree.

Across the road there is a Congregational church which is still in use. It has a stage and auditorium underneath the chapel where our village players perform annual plays and a pantomime. (We are members of this group.) There were two other chapels in the village but both have been converted to living accommodation in the time I have lived here (36 years). The old Wesleyan chapel is actually at the bottom right hand side of our back garden.

Chris is going up today to put up the Christmas tee ready for decorating and also to hoist the star above the chancel steps. You can see him doing it here one year ago.

I'm not going as I can't bear to watch - and he's scared of heights!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.