A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Sparkly red Christmas nails -

One Street 2
that's what I got on my visit to the Beauty Den today. It is the middle window of the lower block of buildings shown here today, and is part of Long Lane that I featured yesterday.

The bottom window belongs to the hairdresser's (n0t mine) called Hair Den - a play on the name of the village - Harden.

Above the beautician's is the pub - The Golden Fleece. It is an old fashioned 'locals' pub frequented by local societies in particular The Harden Players; Harden Horticultural Society and the Cricket Club. It contains many pictures of old Harden but is about to change hands so we will have to see what else changes.

The ribbon development of 19th century mill cottages continues up the hill, there is then a gap of 20th century housing before the cottages resume at the top of the hill.

Behind the cottage gardens is a strip of land where the Horticultural Society holds it's annual show in September. This land borders the mill pond. The fascade of the mill itself has been converted into 3 storey houses in Keighley Road and the area that was demolished behind it is now a turn of century (21st) development of houses called Millbeck.

I have taken this shot with my back to the Primary School - you can see the School zig-zags on the road. As I passed a ball came over the inner fence and I was asked to return it. I was doubtful I could throw it that high but managed it. When my children attended this school there was no security fencing - sad that it is considered necessary these days.

On my return the children had all gone in from their lunch time play and the ball was back on this side of the high fence!

My nails are lovely and sparkly - ready to celebrate!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.