A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

My village - Harden

One Street 1

This is the mains street through my village - Harden. It is called Long Lane and it climbs up through the old village.

Taken here for the mini roundabout at the dog leg junction that is the village centre.

I am standing with my back to Post Office and the butchers and as I was taking these shots yesterday too Gary the butcher came out to ask me what I was taking pictures of. I turned to tell him but his phone rang - no doubt someone wanting to place a Christmas order - and he disappeared back inside.

The road behind me is Harden Road and goes down to Bingley. To the left is Wilsden Road and the right Keighley Road - both self explanatory. Straight on up Long Lane past a branch road to the hamlet of Ryecroft is the village of Cullingworth where I was born. When researching Cullingworth whilst at school I discovered that this was a pack horse route from Bingley to Halifax for the wool trade. No doubt from the time of this pack horse bridge over Harden Beck Beckfoot Bridge

There are several properties in the vicinity, Harden Hall, Hallas Hall and Cuckoos Nest that date from the 17th century but not directly on this road.

The main features you can see here are the gate to the Old Police House on the right.
To the left is the church where there are heating vans no doubt trying to sort out the problems we had last Sunday! Beyond that is the village school.

Just out of sight, where the vans have parked is the war memorial. On the right next to the bus descending the hill is one of two village pubs, The Golden Fleece. There used to be more pubs but not in my memory, one at the top of Long Lane and one that was demolished when the road to Bingley was widened and the current PO and Butchers was built in the '60's.

Below the pub, opposite the school there is a hairdressers and beauticians.

I have featured some of the places in my blips but you may see more of them over the next few days under the heading of 'One Street' . A great idea!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.