A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Northern Skies.

Had a day out today to meet up with my sister in law R and her partner I.

We try to meet every 2-3 months about halfway between where they live in Northumberland and here in West Yorkshire. We have often chosen the east coast but last time I mentioned I had never been to the Bowes Museum having recently visited Glamis Castle the seat of the Bowes Lyon family near Perth.

Barnard Castle is the town in Teesdale where the museum is situated and I had watched the skies all the way up the A1 as the cloud formations constantly changed. Here on the A66 I got the chance to take a few shots. The bare winter trees add to the skyline at this time of year so this was my choice for today.

We looked around the museum after having a coffee. The main feature is the Silver Swan automaton but the entrance and mirror decorated for Christmas looked very nice too. (We missed the Swan in action as this only happens once a day.) More pictures of the museum here.

We took a circular walk from the museum through the lovely market town of Barnard Castle and found a pub for lunch. Lovely to chat and spend time with friends in an interesting place.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.