Five Rise Locks

The weather outlook wasn't so good for today (apologies Kelso, the weather has to figure somewhere in a Brit's journal!) so I had planned a morning of indoor culture for the Three Amigos.  Tony kindly offered to drive me to Saltaire, with a walk home, but as we dropped down in to Bingley the skies cleared and I made a quick decision to walk along the Leeds Liverpool Canal to the Five Rise Locks. 

The boys were glad to be out in the fresh air but I was concerned they might jump in to the canal whilst I wasn't looking so it was a quick set up on the locks and then I retrieved them from the edge!  I set off towards town along the towpath and then realised that I had blipped too close to the locks and didn't achieve the best view of the five.  Unfortunately, it was now too breezy to risk sitting the boys back on the towpath so I made do with a blip of me holding them, which will go in to the Dropbox for Peggy (I don't do extras).

I've ummed and aahed between the two blips, and Tony was no help, but I've gone with this one because I like how the Three Amigos are dwarfed by all that engineering.  They certainly 'triggered' some comments from passers-by and I had to do a quick sprint to rescue them from an interested 'pollywoodle'?  I'm sure I have that wrong.  'Cockapoo'? Sounds like a bird...'Pollypoo?', 'Cockawoodle?'

Adventure over, it was back in to the rucksack with the boys and a lovely walk home.  The culture might have to wait till tomorrow when the forecast is poor (there's that weather again!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.