Out With the Old, In with the New.

Now you see it, now you don’t. Finally after 3 weeks of no central heating, things are beginning to look up just as the temperatures start to plummet.
The heating engineers came promptly this morning and took out the old boiler and are in the process of reinstating the new one. I am holding my breath lest they hit a snag before it delivers heat.
As you know I am a pessimist by nature, assuming that if something can go wrong, it will. This philosophy has never failed me before, but if it does then I am in for a lovely surprise.

If any thing good has come out of the last 3 weeks it is the mildness of the winter so far, my lovely hot water bottle, and last but not least, the kindness of friends with their offers of heaters and my beautifully warm blanket knitted by Wildwood. This latter present has become my security blanket, although I don’t actually suck my thumb as I wrap myself in it.

I’m not yet sure when I can expect hot radiators, but at least there is hope on the horizon. My Irish friend of many talents is coming tomorrow, and who knows, maybe she will be a witness to the inaugural firing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.