A DAY OF TWO HALVES

This morning I was part of the "Girls About Town" morning show at the Radio Station and I must admit, I was quite nervous.  It's one thing being thrown in at the deep end as I was last week, but quite another when you have actually been asked to take part and you aren't sure what is expected of you.

The show was presented by Jo, who was lovely, and her friend, Clare, both of whom I hadn't met before but of course, I already knew Harriet and Vikki so I didn't really need to be nervous.  However, once the show got going and we had a few minutes of doing Chair-obics and generally chatting, I was fine.  My top photograph shows Jo and Vikki doing some exercises and Harriet looking on, probably wondering whatever was happening and the extra shows Vikki, Morgan, her son, Shaheen and Clare.

We had agreed that we would only mention the "B" word once, so at the very beginning of the programme, we all shouted out the word - and it wasn't mentioned again - and if you don't know which word I am talking about, then it doesn't matter anyway!

The first hour was filled with lots of chat about anything and everything, and some good upbeat music, but I left at 11 a.m. because Morgan, Vikki's son, Shaheen and Tori Willard, the guest for the second hour of the programme had arrived.  It is quite a small studio - but I had seen and heard enough to whet my appetite so that I am sure I will enjoy it again next week and perhaps won't be so nervous.  

When I got home, I asked Mr. HCB if he had listened and to my horror he said he hadn't - he had just been pottering around and had forgotten!! I did listen to Tori, who was very interesting and was talking about body positivity, so in a way, I was sorry I wasn't there, but there's always next time, as I'm sure she will be invited back.

We had arranged to go out for lunch with Chris, the lovely guy who showed us around Hong Kong when we first got there last March, and who is in the UK at the moment to visit his father, who is very poorly in hospital.  His Mum, Jean, came with us as did his sister, Sue.  I haven't seen Sue for about 40 years, but we both said neither of us had changed so it was good to renew our friendship - just a shame there isn't a photograph with me in it as well.  

We had a lovely lunch - more chatting - and we all said that we must try and do it again before Chris flies back next Monday and what a good job that I had only been drinking orange juice!

So all in all, a great day and now shhhhh Mr. HCB is sleeping in his chair, having consumed quite a lot of beer - but as he said, he couldn't let Chris drink on his own!  

"The art of being happy
     lies in the power of 
          extracting happiness
               from common things."
Henry Ward Beecher

P.S.  In other news, I had a call from my GP's surgery yesterday to say that they had had the results from my 24 hour heart monitor that I wore in early December and there was no indication of any heart issues - for which we are very grateful - now I can get back to paragliding!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.