EVEN POSH PORSCHE CARS.....

....."get done" for parking on double yellow lines!

Sometime ago, we often met up with Shirley and Tony, a lovely couple, when we went into The Old Bank for coffee, and used to have some quite animated conversations.  Since The Old Bank changed several months ago, we didn't feel as comfortable so none of us have been back in there - we go to Jack's for our coffee and they go to The Kings Arms - now called Twenty at The Kings.

We have kept in touch with them, although we don't see them that regularly now, but after some email communication between us since Christmas, I decided that it would be good to pop in to see them this morning, as we needed to go up into Old Town.  

We filled several old suitcases and bags with jigsaw puzzles, books and bric-a-brac and decided to take them into a local charity shop on our way, which we did, and then popped in to see them.  They seemed really pleased to see us and were very interested to hear about our forthcoming trip.  We have promised that if we don't see them before we go, we will certainly pop in there to tell them about it when we get back.

I took several photographs, which I thought I could make into a collage for my Blip today, but after we left, and were walking along Wood Street, we saw this posh Porsche car that had a parking ticket on the windscreen.  I rather liked the way the sky and clouds and also the buildings in the street were reflected in the bodywork and, of course, it wasn't as psychedelic as this, but I have "tarted it up" because being black, I thought it looked rather boring;  I have also cut off the registration plate - as I don't want to embarrass anyone, although I am pretty certain it doesn't belong to any friends of ours!

I guess if you can afford a Porsche, you can afford to pay a parking fine and it means you don't have to get cold walking from the car park - you just park on double yellow lines and then pop into the nearest shop, but of course, there is always the chance that the traffic wardens will be around.

As we carried on walking, we saw a man, who Mr. HCB thinks looked as if he worked in the legal profession (was the velvet collar on his overcoat a giveaway, I wonder or perhaps he was assuming things).  In any event, he was obviously not very happy to see a parking ticket on his BMW - Mr. HCB was muttering "Shhhhh - come on" under his breath, so I refrained from taking a photograph for obvious reasons!  

“If one does not fail at times, 
     then one has not challenged himself.”
Ferdinand Porsche 1875-1951

P.S.  Mr. HCB's comment when he saw this was "Shame it's not Abstract Thursday - this would do well for that!"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.