WHAT A BONUS!

Mr. HCB insists on making sure I get down the stairs safely - and I guess that’s quite sensible, given that I have to come down using crutches on a staircase that turns.  He then went back upstairs and I had just settled myself on the sofa when I saw a Greater Spotted Woodpecker on the feeder in the garden.  

I ran - well hobbled on crutches - over to the sideboard and got out my camera with the long zoom, but by the time I had put the camera round my neck, hobbled to the window and then got in a position to take a photograph, the woodpecker had gone.  

I kept looking though and this afternoon asked Mr. HCB to move the flowers from the table in the conservatory so that I could see any birds that came to the feeders.  It was raining very hard, but I was thrilled to see the Great Spotted Woodpecker again so we left the door from the lounge to the conservatory open and I managed to get this shot and also a shot of the little Blue Tit which is in as an extra.  

I was quite pleased with both shots, given that they are taken through glass and it’s not that clean - so guess what job Mr. HCB will be doing tomorrow morning?

I rang the surgery a little while ago and have been told that I have “subtle osteoarthritis” in my hip - not quite sure what that means and the painkillers are definitely not working, so the receptionist has said that she will ask a doctor to call me to have a discussion about what to do next.  

Thank you all again for your kind comments and good wishes - I do apologise for not commenting but please bear with me.

“A bird doesn’t sing
     because it has an answer,
          it sings because
               it has a song.”
Maya Angelou

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.