WE COULD JUST ABOUT AFFORD A FERRARI.......

Whilst we were out having lunch and chatting with Sue, Chris and Jean yesterday, we learned that Sue’s husband worked at Ferrari and in fact, we mentioned that we knew a young lady named Caitlin, who worked there.  Sue was astonished because she had met Caitlin only a couple of months ago -  what a small world - and she wondered how we knew Caitlin, so we told her that Caitlin used to be a waitress at Jack’s, where we went quite often, so we had got to know her well before she left last June.

Mr. HCB suggested we popped into Jack’s this morning for a quick coffee, so we told Keiran, who still works there, that we were thinking of going over to see Caitlin later.  The two of them always got on well together, so I wasn’t surprised when he came over to our table with a Cinnamon Danish to give to her - and he had written her a cryptic little note on the back of the bag.    

So on a  beautiful morning, after our coffee stop at Jack’s, off we went to the Ferrari garage.  It was lovely to see Caitlin and she told us she was really enjoying her job, and you can see from the photograph in my collage, how happy she looks.  She was delighted when I gave her the Danish and laughed when she read the note on the back.

We also took the opportunity to speak to Sue’s husband and he said when he saw us come in, he thought “I bet that’s Maureen & John”!  After we had taken our leave of Caitlin, we had a lovely time wandering around, and of course, I took a few shots.  And for my dear Blip friend, LSquare, I even found some pareidolia, which I’m sure she will spot immediately.  

As we were very close to Junction 16 of the M4 motorway, Mr. HCB decided to come home that way instead of going through the town, as we live quite near to Junction 15.  

As we drove home, I asked Mr. HCB how much a Ferrari would cost, because of course, there were no prices on the ones in the showroom (surprise, surprise!)  He said it could cost anything up to £250,000 and beyond, so I suggested we could sell the house and buy one - however, he didn’t think that would be a good idea, bearing in mind we would then have to live in it.  

As I said to Sophia, the receptionist, I could, and would have a good go at getting into a Ferrari - not that I did at the garage - but I knew I wouldn’t be able to get out quite so easily,  so guess our little Honda Jazz will have do us for now, but it's good to dream!

“The body is like a car: 
     the older you become 
          the more care you have to 
               take care of it - 
and you don't leave a Ferrari 
     out in the sun.”
Joan Collins

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.