Lisbon

Up early. Really early. Otter and Flora went off to their holiday digs last night. This break was booked long before a puppy was envisaged and we are lucky to have someone who'll take an old dog and a spirited puppy for a few days. 

Edinburgh airport was busy but quite efficient. Flight had a 45 minute delay for reasons unknown but 100 mph tailwinds meant we made good progress down to Lisbon. This is my first visit to the city. I know lots of people who have visited and I'm yet to hear a bad word about it so I'm really looking forward to exploring. 

Apartment for a few nights in an old building near the water.  After orientation by the owner we set off for the waterfront. The main blip is the River Tagus from the Praça do Comércio. Had wonderful fishy lunch in a small, busy, cafe/restaurant near the apartment. Then off for more exploring including a trip on the famous Santa Justa Lift (extra, from below). Enjoyed the view from on high and at the top wandered round the Bairro Alto district. Back to the waterfront and home. I've already taken more photographs than I know what to do with so I'll need to do serious sorting.

The weather is bright and sunny. Cool in the shade, much warmer in the sun. Here's to winter sunshine.

Apologies if I'm not able to do much commenting for a few days

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.