Blip Meet

I was ready to take the Council to task this morning when I discovered yesterday that they were still taking huge amounts of money out of my account despite my qualifying for a reduction in tax, being the sole occupant of the Dower House. I had never had a letter from them detailing what the new payment would be and assumed they had done nothing to implement it.

The wind was taken out of my sails and I retreated with my tail between my legs when it was explained that because they hadn’t taken any money in December, they were dividing the unpaid tax between the months of January, February and March and adding it to the new amount. Pity they hadn’t thought to write and tell me.

Having dealt with that problem I had to canter into town to meet up with Munroist who was coming to the city by train, arriving at 9:30, and would meet me before meeting another friend for lunch.

We had a very chatty hour and a half covering broken legs and funerals before turning to cheerier things. It was lovely to see her and hopefully I might be able to meet her on her home territory sometime soon.

It was then another canter home to be in for the heating engineer coming to fine tune the new boiler, clear up and give me operational instructions. I’m sure to any passer bye on my way up the Mound, I must have looked like a manic woman as I put my head down and rushed past them.

Getting all the clothes back into the wardrobe took ages this afternoon and very few actually made it to the charity bag. But everything is now back in place and I am about to go out for a meal with my Irish Friend of mts and her partner, both over in Edinburgh from Ireland.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.