Gratitude

The office week is over. 

Just the Goth and me there today. Midmorning I was asked write a speech the Boss needed - for this evening. Usually the Manager does that work, after inheriting it from the Syrian, but she was still working on his speech for this afternoon. 

I suppose I was carefully selected for my knowledge on the subject - Brexit. She had drawn the short straw - credit unions - plus speeches in Parliament are strictly time controlled, so word count is constantly being juggled with content. The country’s greatest expert on the subject would still only have 4 minutes to get the message across. 

My effort was for an evening event, so that side of it was more relaxed. On the other hand the current position on the subject changes several times a day. Anyway, I (we) did not hold back. Any Tories in the audience will probably have left early. 

Part of my lunch break was spent pondering the right theme to take. The party line has to be followed, but…   

I managed a quick Blip after I’d eaten. The place seems quiet, but the church has a foodbank as well as a cafe, and it is just out of shot. There was a queue. It is not easy to enjoy your lunch in those circumstances, but I know part of my daily spend in the cafe goes to help fund the foodbank. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.