HAS ANYONE FOUND MY MISSING BLIP MOJO?

For some reason, my Blip Mojo is missing and I can’t seem to find it!  I am feeling better and thank you all for your kind comments but I don’t feel that I want to be bothered with doing much but of course, grey and dismal January days may have something to do with that.  I remember Mr. HCB’s mother always used to say she didn’t like January and I know why.

We went out for coffee with a friend this morning, but didn’t bother to go to Jack’s, as it has been rather busy on Saturday mornings of late, so we met at what was previously “The King’s Arms” but has now been renamed just “The Kings” so I guess there is now no need for an apostrophe!

It is quite a magnificent Victorian building in Wood Street, one of the oldest parts of the town.  The original building opened in about1835 and was also a bakery with a windmill in the back garden. In 1867 the owner John Godwin borrowed £1000 and rebuilt the pub by 1870. It was purchased by a local brewery, Arkell’s in 1885.  

It was rather quiet in there this morning, but in the 1862 lease it was described as “The King’s Arms, together with Bakehouse, Flourhouse, Baconhouse, Brewhouse, Stables, Outbuildings and garden.”  Not much like that going on in there today although it does have a good restaurant.

The Ladies toilets are quite antiquated and I don’t suppose many pubs have toilets with a high level cistern with a pull flush - although it is definitely not a "Victorian" handle on the chain.  There is also a Victorian wash basin, although I’m not sure if this is original either, but it looks quite old so I thought I would Blip them for today.  The photographs look as if they have been taken in Black and White, but in fact, that is how they are!

“The flush toilet, 
     more than any single invention, 
          has 'civilized' us in a way that 
              religion and law could never accomplish.” 
Thomas Lynch - The Undertaking: Life Studies from the Dismal Trade
(As a matter of interest, Thomas Lynch was an Undertaker - you can read more about his Life Studies here.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.