MONO MONDAY - HOPE

Mr. HCB and I decided to go into the library today and I was pleased that I found three of the books on my “To Read” list - “When God was a Rabbit” by Sarah Winman, “Pachinko” by Min Jin Lee and “A Year in the Life of the Yorkshire Shepherdess” by Amanda Owen.  They will certainly keep me out of mischief for a while.

I was wondering what I could possibly do for today’s MM challenge with the subject of “hope” when I spotted this defibrillator on the wall near the Information Desk in the library.  

For those who don’t know or who aren’t sure, “Defibrillation is a treatment for life-threatening cardiac dysrhythmias, specifically ventricular fibrillation and non-perfusing ventricular tachycardia. A defibrillator delivers a dose of electric current to the heart.”

So in simple terms and for the non-medical people like me, “A defibrillator is a device that gives a high energy electric shock to the heart through the chest wall to someone who is in cardiac arrest.”

For the Mono Monday challenge, therefore, this defibrillator is a “symbol of hope” to anyone who has had a cardiac arrest and now I have had confirmation that my heart is fine, I “hope” that one is never needed for my personal use. 

I also “hope” if ever I need to use one on someone else that I will be able to follow the instructions, which, I was assured by the lady on the desk, are inside the box.  She also told me that if someone hadn’t had a cardiac arrest, the defibrillator won’t administer the electric shock - but she then added “But I’ve no idea how the machine knows that!” 

I understand that today is known as “Blue Monday” but I refuse to be blue - the sun is shining and the sky may be blue - but I choose to be happy today - and full of hope for what lies ahead and I think my Blip mojo is almost back to normal!

For my Blip friend, LSquare, who is the "Queen of Pareidolia", I can even see some pareidolia here and hope you can too!

“Hope is being able to see
     that there is light, 
          despite all of the darkness.”
Bishop Desmond Tutu

P.S.  I have included as an extra, one of the Post-it Notes that I put up for over 2 years and which shows an acronym for the word HOPE.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.