THE HOVERING TILLEY HAT!

Mr. HCB and I have both had nasty head colds and sore throats for a couple of days so got up slowly today and decided to have an easy morning. 

The sun was shining and although it was very frosty, it was quite pleasant in our conservatory, so I did some more paperwork relating to Mum’s affairs and then we enjoyed home made soup before going into the library. We needed to get some fresh air and it’s not too far so we went on the bus rather than taking the car, which makes more sense as we have free travel passes.  Mr. HCB then walked up to the library whilst I did other things and then we met up.

On our a way back to the bus station, I spotted these naked male mannequins in Top Shop and thought they would make a  good Blip today. We saw in our local newspaper last night that this particular shop will be closing in Swindon at the end of March, so it was a case of “striking while the iron was hot”.  I did change the shot to mono, but rather like the jade green so changed it back.

Whilst standing near the window taking photographs, Mr. HCB distanced himself from me, as usual.  However, I realised that when someone walked past, their reflection appeared so I asked Mr. HCB if he would kindly stand so that his reflection appeared on the models.  Reluctantly he agreed so I quickly took a couple more shots making sure that the “rude bits” on the mannequins were cut off, so to speak - just in case they offend anyone and even get me banned from Blip!  When I checked the shot later, I could only see his hovering Tilley hat! 

I thought it would be a kind gesture to treat Mr. HCB to a coffee as his modelling fee, so that made him happy! We are now back home in the warm, because now the sun has gone down, the temperature has dropped and I think it’s going to be another cold and frosty night.

I liked this quote and thought that if I substituted the word “hat” for “face” most of my Blip friends would realise that Mr. HCB was involved somehow albeit reluctantly!

“The secret to modelling 
     is not being perfect.
What one needs is a face (hat) 
     that people can identify in a second.”
Karl Lagerfeld

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.