MONO-MONDAY - SOMETHING THAT RHYMES WITH "QUICK"

…..or even someone!  This is Mick - who prefers to be called Mike - but for the purposes of Mono Monday was happy to oblige and be called Mick - just so that I could get a good photograph for today’s challenge!

Mike is our next door neighbour and what he doesn’t know about model aeroplanes probably isn’t worth knowing!  I asked him how he would describe himself - and almost had to gag his wife, Lynn, who said she could think of a few things - and he said he was an “aero modeller”.  Since he retired, Mike has spent a lot of  some time building planes and flying them - and I don’t think I have ever heard him say he wishes he was still working!

When I said that I would like to take a shot of him for Mono Monday, Mike said that he had been busy in his workshop, so he invited me to have a look.  He told me that he is in the process of making a model of a Super 60 Ben Buckle aeroplane and the reason it is a Super 60 is because it has a 60 inch wingspan - simple really!

With the photograph taken, we wandered back into their kitchen when I asked Mike how many model planes he had - he looked sheepishly at his wife before responding “Thirty or forty” and his wife then interjected, “And an extremely patient wife, who is still waiting for her kitchen to be finished after three years!”  At that point, I felt that I may have inadvertently started WW3, so thought I would leave!  

Mike and Lynn are the best neighbours anyone could have, are always ready to help out or lend a hand and if we ever need a small job done, Mike is always there and has the right tool for the job - Mr. HCB not being a DIY sort of person.  Lynn is a “salt of the earth” type who has been so supportive since Mum was poorly, and is always willing to do shopping or make Mr. HCB a cake - and even buys him the occasional trifle, because she knows I was trying to lose weight and obviously felt he was deprived.  What would we do without good neighbours?

“All will concede that in order 
     to have good neighbors, 
we must also be good neighbors;  
     that applies in every field 
          of human endeavor.
Harry S. Truman

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.