THE KINDNESS OF BLIP FRIENDS

I decided last night, when I was coughing and spluttering that it might be best if I didn’t go into the studio for Girls About Town today - because although the germs would love it, I’m sure the other girls - and the male guest - wouldn’t want to be infected, so I stayed in bed longer, which was a treat for me.

When I eventually got up and looked out of the window, it was very foggy, so I was tempted to get back into bed, but didn’t.  I went downstairs after I had showered and decided that a morning spent in my pink robe would do me good - and it did.

After a lunch of home-made soup, Mr. HCB suggested we went to Jack’s for coffee - and how fortunate that we did!  Flo, one of the waitresses, came up to me and said “Is this you?” pointing to a label on a large box marked “Fresh Flowers - This Way Up - Handle with Care - Thank You”.  Well I can’t imagine there would be more than one of me - and I think Mr. HCB would probably mutter something like “Perish the thought”!  

Flo said they had been delivered yesterday and was anxious to know who the gift was from, so I opened it and was almost in tears at the kindness of a wonderful Blip friend.  Flo was puzzled as to why the package had been delivered to Jack’s so I told her that this particular friend obviously didn’t have my home address but knew that Jack’s was our favourite coffee shop.  

The card said “Thinking and praying for you on this first month anniversary, Love…..”  If we had gone up to Jack’s yesterday, then it wouldn’t have been the first month anniversary of Mum’s death - but today it is - so from the bottom of our hearts, a huge THANK YOU - you know who you are!

I have mentioned before that different Blip friends have sent various gifts and cards.  We had a card a few days ago from a Blip friend in Hong Kong, another a couple of days ago from a Blip friend in The Netherlands and one yesterday from yet another Blip friend in the USA.  I’m sure you couldn’t find a more friendly and caring community anywhere and both Mr. HCB and I are really grateful for the outpouring of love from everyone.  Mum would be delighted because the flowers are now in the vase she was given for her 90th birthday - and it’s such a beautiful vase that the flowers almost arrange themselves!  

“How beautiful a day can be,
     when kindness touches it!”
George Elliston

P.S.  I apologise for not responding to all the wonderful comments on yesterday's Blip but we  both felt so poorly last night, we went to bed early.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.