HOORAY - I GOT MY STICKER!

Today was the day!  Off we went, earlier this morning, to the Steam Museum in Swindon to get our Covid vaccinations and we were delighted that it was so well organised - from entering the car park, where fortunately we didn’t have to pay - to walking past the now closed Designer Village - there were volunteer marshals, many from The Round Table charity organisation, all long the route that took us about 5 minutes to navigate.  

The first man we spoke to, who was on the door and welcomed us said how much he liked Mr. HCB’s hat, and to think he said he wasn’t going to wear it today!   We checked in and were directed to other marshals inside, and they were all happy for me to take their photographs - and you know me, never one to miss a Blip opportunity - and I even explained about Blip to several of the volunteers who asked what I was doing!

I had a funny dream last night though - I dreamt that we didn’t need to have an actual jab, but that they gave us our vaccination on a piece of cheese!  Don’t ask because I have no idea why that idea popped into my head - I hadn’t been eating cheese and I am not frightened of injections, but when I told the ladies from our surgery, they all laughed!  I dreamed I told our older son about this, as he doesn’t like injections, and he was delighted - so perhaps by the time it gets to his turn, this will be happening!

The collage shows Mr. HCB walking towards the Steam Museum and going round clockwise it shows our route - everyone was so helpful and we could tell they were smiling from their eyes.  We were sent to the tables where various ladies from our surgery were waiting for us and it was such a quick and simple procedure.  

Elaine, who used to be the Head Practice Nurse at our surgery, and who actually did my injection, is in the middle of the collage.  I did say I thought she had retired to which she responded that she had, but as she couldn’t go away at the moment - and I remember that she did like her holidays - she thought she might as well be part of this team.  Good for her!  As soon as it was done and we moved away - and we both said we didn’t even feel it because it was done so quickly - I noticed that our chairs were wiped clean.

We then had to go and sit down for 15 minutes and again, this was well organised, as the time we were allowed to leave was put on the top of the card we are encouraged to carry with us all the time.  Having been done a minute before me, Mr. HCB left slightly before me, but I spent my 15 minutes looking around, praying and thanking God for all the people involved in this mammoth operation and also for those who had been vaccinated, many of whom were a lot older than us.

It was quite exciting to be part of this and everyone involved deserves a Gold Star.  Having told our Church WhatsApp group that we had been to have our vaccinations, someone said that he hoped I had been a brave girl - I said I had been but was upset that I hadn’t been given a sticker, whereupon he sent me one, so I changed my selfie to show me wearing the sticker he sent!

“People working together
     in a strong community 
          with a shared goal 
               and a common purpose 
                    can make the impossible possible.”
Tom Vilsack

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.