TINY TUESDAY - SPECIAL MEMENTO

I was delighted this morning to receive a gift in the post from a fellow Blipper - a lovely little heart on a bracelet, with a quote that says, “And though she be but little, she is fierce”, together with a note that said, “Thought this summed you up (in a good way!) Lots of Love, C.”  

I decided to look up this particular quotation by the famous playwright, poet and actor, William Shakespeare, and it appears it was spoken by Helena about Hermia in “A Midsummer Night’s Dream”.  

It brought back a memory for me of when I was in a Shakespeare play “Twelfth Night” at Junior school.  I was playing the part of a maidservant and had two short speeches, in two different scenes.  I delivered the first speech with no trouble, but then when it was time for me to deliver the second, I inadvertently said the first one again!  I quickly realised my mistake, got to the end of it and just said “and….” carrying on with the second speech.  I wonder if anyone noticed?

Anyway, I am delighted with this gift from a lovely Blip friend and trust that this is an omen for me on my new Way of Life - perhaps one day, I will indeed be little - although I daresay there are many who already think I am fierce, although I did give out five of my little hearts this morning!

Met up with a friend for coffee this morning and had an enjoyable time catching up - we haven't seen each other for over a year so we had a lot to catch up!   

When I got home, Mr. HCB and I decided to watch “They Shall Not Grow Old”, the documentary made by transforming archive footage more than 100 years old by Peter Jackson, and using the voices of the men who can best tell the story of World War I - the men who were there.

I never knew just how awful it was for them.  I’m glad we watched it, but I can well understand now why those who came back from both World Wars never wanted to speak about what they had seen and heard.  We were sad to hear yesterday that mindless vandals were responsible for desecrating the Memorial to the men who served in RAF Bomber Command in World War II and also targeted the statue of Sir Winston Churchill and President Roosevelt by daubing them with white paint.  When they are caught, they should be made to clean off the damage and locked in a room to watch “They Shall Not Grow Old” with the volume on high - although I doubt they would learn from their mindless vandalism.

"Some gifts are big, 
     others are small, 
          but the ones that come 
from the heart 
     are the best gifts of all." 
Tinku Razoria

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.