MONO MONDAY - FANTASY

Fantasy : the faculty or activity of imagining impossible or improbable things

Today, being Monday, was the next session with my friend, Gill, going through the book “A Year With My Camera”.  Both of us take a lot of photographs, but we want to learn more about our cameras and the way they work, so that we can take even better photographs.

Gill had been very diligent in doing her homework and had even gone up to the nearby Motorway bridge and taken some shots using different shutter speeds - I had only stood at the side of the busy road near our house, but it was good to compare notes.

Today we read Chapter 4 relating to ISO and although Gill thought this was something she would have trouble grasping, she did very well.

The same cannot be said of me when we read Chapter 5, which relates to the exposure triangle. In fact, when it came to the part where we tested ourselves, I didn’t really do that well and Gill seemed much more confident - so perhaps it is a fantasy that I will have that “lightbulb moment” and be able to understand everything quickly but I will “plod on” and hopefully that elusive moment will come.

Despite my misgivings, I have promised I will try and do my homework and shoot some photographs on Manual even if I don’t really understand what I’m doing.

Here is Gill, studying the book and being kind enough to pose for my Blip today.  Mr. HCB and I are going out for a walk this afternoon - after two days of almost continuous rain, and steps for each day well under 4,000, it will be good to get out - just hope the sunshine lasts.

“Unless you try to do something
     beyond what you have
          already mastered,
               you will never grow.”
Ralph Waldo Emerson

P.S.  Thanks to a fellow Blipper, Cherry Flapjack - I now know who "Codger" is from my Blip yesterday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.