Lemmy

My friend Rachael bought me this, I spent years working with Lemmy’s son Paul, we wrote lots of songs and had a big record deal but for one reason or another our record never came out.

Paul took me to see his Dad in a hotel when he was in town, it was about 11 in the morning, when people went to put money in the meter he asked me if I wanted a drink, I politely declined and said that what I really wanted was some tea and toast as I hadn’t had breakfast, he said he would join in and ordered room service, we had triangles of marmalade on toast and tea together and he showed me a book of his poetry which was deeply moving and about the war, he was very knowledgeable about military history. It was one of my standout meetings of my life, he had such a strong grounded imposing yet gentle presence, when we were together I felt that he was fully with me, totally focused on the moment, I will never forget meeting him.

I am so thankful that I saw motorheads concert at Glastonbury this year before he died.

I had a busy day sorting things out and learning songs. I also had a lovely walk through the park.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.