biddy

By biddy

Frosty start to the day. Beautiful moon.

I stepped outside in my thick hooded dressing gown before breakfast to look at the moon. 
It is so silent. Incredible to think that man has been there. 
My grandfather never believed it. It was his version of the now popular phrase "Fake News"! 
On a still frosty morning when it is not quite daylight and the sky infinitely clear, the moon fills me with a sense of awe. 
      It reminds me of my childhood when dad and I used to go up to the farm if we had run short of milk.
      He had a big torch, and as we walked through the fields along the dirt track lane it cast pools of light at our feet. 
    I loved going with him at night, holding his hand  as we made our way to the lights of the farm. 
    The nights of the full moon were the best when there was no cloud cover. Everything was silver. We had no need of the torch-light then. 
   It made me think, this morning as I gazed at it once more of the poem I remember from my early years by Walter de la Mare. 
                           Silver
"Slowly, silently, now the moon
Walks the night in her silver shoon;
This way, and that, she peers, and sees
Silver fruit upon silver trees;
One by one the casements catch
Her beams beneath the silvery thatch;
Couched in his kennel, like a log,
With paws of silver sleeps the dog;
From their shadowy cote the white breasts peep
Of doves in a silver-feathered sleep;
A harvest mouse goes scampering by,
With silver claws, and silver eye;
And moveless fish in the water gleam,
By silver reeds in a silver stream."

Thankfully today the threatened cold seems to have disappeared! 
I feel better. 
There are a couple of photos in extras of the moon. I was playing around with the first one in "Edits" adding some frost! Amazing how with an ordinary camera you can still pick out some details. 
The main photo is the frost on the extension roof. It created a mini landscape.  
   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.