biddy

By biddy

Winter day. Hoar frost and frozen pools.

The chiropractor's receptionist called me first thing, to say could they reschedule my appointment to next week
  I jumped at the chance. The reason being the startlingly blue skies, and shiny frosty morning which had me chomping at the bit to be outdoors and part of it. 
     We had snow last night, which had begin to fall intermittently in the afternoon. It was not a significant fall, but enough to make everything seem like a winter wonderland. We donned our walking boots and sallied forth for a long walk in the park. 
      What a  glorious morning. 
The snow sparkled and the trees and bushes were decked with hoar frost. 
It was just above freezing having begun the day at -2C. As we reached the first of the pools that we would encounter, there were a couple of swans in a small part which was not frozen over.
Not many people about.When I took off my gloves from time to time to use my camera, my hands soon became very cold.
I know I could use "fingerless" gloves, but they do not appeal to me. 
We stopped at the Bistro near Blackroot Pool and had a welcome coffee, before we left to make our way home. 
    I am thankful then today for the cancellation of my appointment. 
I have an appointment at our local GP practice in the morning at 8.15am. I am well, this is a general health check which came at their request. Hubby has had his already. 
    Maybe they will cancel it.........  
      

   
    

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.