Doorstep Conversation

So I wandered round Mourão today, praying for God to bless, and meeting folk. Should do it more; gives me life.

This is the old folks' home on the right, donated to the town by the former owners. As I was looking into the open front door, an elderly lady dressed all in black with a scarf over her head, appeared at the door of the smaller blue house on the left, number 5. She called me over and said, "You're not from here, are you?" We chatted and chatted, she insisted I step over the threshold to see inside. When another neighbour came over and wouldn't stop talking, she gave an order, "When she stops talking, don't go away, I want to talk more!" 

So we did. She is 92, full of life and laughter. She's named after Mourão's patron saint, whose festival the town is gearing up for on the 2nd of February. Apparently, some years back, they changed her day to the summer so more folk could come, against the wishes of the locals. On the day, it rained so much they couldn't celebrate anything, so it got changed back, as it should be - they both agreed.

Both women told me their homes were mine, and to call in whenever I wanted. Jesus said something about this...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.