Driverless

A very foggy morning - I was tempted to photograph the sun, an ethereal grey ball floating in the eastern sky. But I was driving.

If I had been travelling in this it would not have been a problem. It is an “Autonomous Connected Vehicle”. There is no need (or facility) for a driver. The passengers sit in their seats and it heads off.

Salford University are trialling it, in three phases. First phase is I am told around the campus. Phase 3 will be between campuses, which means releasing it onto the public highway. For that to work there will have to be 5G and sensors everywhere.

Ticket to ride ?

Filed under WidWed, and if I am going to list my favourite places in Salford the Quays would be near the top of the list. I have seen it change hugely over the years, and for the better.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.