A Place I Love

Morrisons at 9am.  My friend Jan was a bit late picking me up as she had to de-ice her car.  The outside was no problem as she had some good de-icer spray - but the inside of the car was also frozen so she had to put the " blowers on " - and wait.

Lily had a vets appointment at 2.30pm - and you know the problems I have had getting her to go to her previous 6 appointments.   Anyway I was in the bathroom at around 1.30pm.  Lily wandered in.  I stayed calm and took my chance.  I gently moved towards the door and closed it.  Lily had a " fit " clawing at the door and crying.  But I was able to quickly wrap her in a towel, put her in the basket and close the lid.  Oh what a fuss she made - the noise was  ridiculous.  Because she had " busted out " of the cat basket last time I decided to put the basket inside the buggy carrier - " belt and braces " better to be safe than sorry.

So a bit later we set off for the vets - see my Extra shot of the buggy.  We had a nice walk through the park to the vets.  Everywhere was still very frosty.  My phone showed the temp as minus 6 degrees. Lily howled the whole way.  And she howled in the vets waiting room too.  A poor little dog called Geordie who was also in the waiting room was rather afraid of the noise she was making and hid behind his owner.

Once Lily was on the vets table she was quiet and behaved very well.  She had her health check  and her injection and then it was time for her to go back in the basket.  She dived in without any trouble.

Back home via the park ( she was still making a terrible noise ) where I decided to take my blip shot. The Wide Wednesday theme today is " A Place You Love".  Well I do love the village I live in. And I do love Chase Park - especially today walking through it with Lily finally having been to the vets.

I have lived in this village since 1957 ( apart from a year or so somewhere else ) and over the years I have spent many happy hours in Chase Park - playing on the swings and the old rocking horse that used to be there, seeing the animals in  Pets Corner, playing tennis, having picnics, watching Becky and Neil playing in the paddling pool, going to the Summer Fairs and Gardeners Shows, watching the children's marching bands ... and more.  Happy memories.

The park has changed drastically over the years and a lot of the old favourites are no longer there - but a lottery grant enabled new equipment to be bought a few years ago so its still popular with parents and young children.  Big changes may be afoot in the park soon as the Council want to demolish some of the old buildings and put new houses in their place.  There is a lot of opposition in the village for this project and at the moment its the subject of a consultation. The park is not a suitable location for housing so I hope it doesn't go ahead.  Thanks to Freyjad for hosting the challenge.

When Lily got home she ate some food and since then she has mostly been sleeping.  Probably exhausted by all the silly fuss she made earlier.

Steps today - 8,936

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.