Something I treasure

Had a lazy morning and then this afternoon I headed for Blaydon Primary Care Centre where I had an appointment for a chest X Ray.  When I had the previous X ray in November last year a white spot was found which they thought was  something called a calcified granuloma - a specific type of tissue inflammation that has become calcified over time. ( The formation of granulomas is often caused by an infection. During an infection, immune cells surround and isolate foreign material, such as bacteria. Granulomas can also be caused by other immune system or inflammatory conditions. They’re most commonly found in the lungs.).  So I had a short course of antibiotics in November and was told to get a repeat X Ray in 8 weeks. So that's all done and dusted now.  I was in and out in around 10 mins. I have an appointment booked with my doctor for next week and I hope the X Ray result will be OK this time.

The  bus travel today did not go to plan.  It takes 2 buses to get to the Care Centre - and 2 back.  The first bus was on time, the second bus was 7 mins late, the third bus was 10 mins late and the final bus just didn't turn up at all.  It would have been a half hour wait for the next one so I just got on a bus which passed through the village and then I walked up to my estate.  I was glad to get indoors to get warm

The Tiny Tuesday challenge theme today is special memento. Anything tiny you hold near and dear to you that you may have received as a gift or purchased whilst on vacation .... or you simply treasure!  I had something in mind but I couldn't find it - typical of me.  But I did come across the brooch in my blip shot.

This brooch belonged to my Mam.  She bought it while she was on holiday in Scotland. That must have been in the late 70's. I have very few keepsakes of my Mam as when she died in 1981 my Dad threw most of her things away or gave them to charity without asking if me or my brothers wanted anything.  I don't blame him - he was in a bad way after her death and couldn't bear to have anything of hers around the house. So I was very surprised when he gave me this brooch in 1985.  I know when he gave it to me as I have written the date on the bottom of the box - 30/8/1985 ( which was Neil's first birthday ). The brooch is obviously just a cheap souvenir but its very precious to me as it belonged to my Mam. Its definitely something I treasure.  Thanks to KangaZu for hosting the challenge.

Steps today - 7,833

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.