But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Both myself and Jnr were up at 3:30 in time to see the start of the eclipse though all did not go as planned. The early shots of Earth’s shadow creeping across the moon were fine (see extra), but by the time the Blip was snapped, conditions and results were not so good. Surprisingly, as we approached totality, the moon became too dark and the picture came out rather noisy; at totality, neither I or the camera could focus on it and the climax was quite disappointing. Mrs TD suggested that I should get a better camera; I could go for a Sony A7 with the 600 mm f:2.8 lens but, £20,000 to let me get the shot in such conditions (next opportunity, May 2022) is a bit excessive though, it seems as though a good view of this one could have been had in Edinburgh. The Blip wins its place since, not only does it show the red developing, you can also see some blue at the top which is due to the ozone layers having a different refractive index to the rest of the atmosphere.
 
Somewhere around 30 years ago, I watched a blood moon develop as I cycled home from work through town; when I arrived home, I threw Jnr in the car and drove him to a local dark spot so that he could see it in all its glory. That was spectacular and would have presented no problems with a modern camera. Although Jnr was impressed at the time, he was too young to carry the memory into adulthood.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.