Stuff and Nonsense

By Diane2104

Day #5 Gisbourne

Pied Stilt #9
Today we have been in Gisbourne, and it was also a maiden stop for the Azamara Quest. The captain will have met some of the town officials and exchanged plaques and said some nice words to them I'm sure. 
As we arrived at 1pm, we decided to let the hoards off first, had a late lunch and then tendered ashore at around 3pm to miss the heat of the sun and it proved to be a good move I think. 
Nothing planned, we chose to do the beaches and rivers walk which was around 5 miles and it was lovely. Apart from a bit of a shopping street, I think it took in most of what there was to see, which wasn't too much from most cruisers perspective but I think that there was much more to see further afield as there were quite a lot of tours to various wineries and the like. But we enjoyed our walk and of course I managed to find some more new birds :)
My main blip is the pied stilt, with a pukeko(I think) and some sort of a heron in extras, and a shot of the river, which apparently is the shortest one in NZ at 1200m...
I also saw another weird looking bird, the spur winged plover, but did not manage a passable image of it. Maybe we will see another one before we leave. I like to blip the ones that we don't see at home. 

Thanks to all of you following my journal whilst I am away and for leaving comments and presents. It is most appreciated. As usual the Wifi is very slow and I am struggling to post my blips, but will persevere. 

I hope it is not too bad at home with the cold weather, but id does remind me why we normally choose to go away in January! Stay safe everyone.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.