Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Blue

That is how I awoke this morning - feeling blue.  No reason, just one of those days.  I get them sometimes.  Maybe we all do.

But, as things evolved, there were several reasons for smiles today.  Perhaps the most significant being that our governments longest shutdown in history came to an end, albeit perhaps only temporary.  At least the 800,000 people who've been going without paychecks finally have some relief.  The people in charge of negotiating on behalf of the citizens of this great country, however, are still a bunch of spoiled, ungrateful, selfish children - just my humble opinion.  

Second reason for smiles - the email went out today from Cornell announcing the winners of their Great Backyard Bird Count 2018 photo contest.  And I managed, amazingly, to capture two Honorable Mentions and a Third Place!  I actually found out a couple of weeks ago when I got an email giving me a heads up, but the official, public announcement was today.  I've entered this contest for the last 7 or 8 years and finally won my first HM last year.  Didn't expect anything this year as the competition is always really stiff, so when I learned that I'd gotten 3 nods, I was beyond chuffed.  Anyway, if you'd like to see my entries, as well as the other fab photos, check THIS link - my entries are in the Overall and Composition categories.  This year's 4-day window for the competition is coming up next month and it's free to enter, so all my fellow nature photographers should check it out!

Tomorrow I'm getting together with one of my besties, Ellen, for pedicures and lunch as a pre-birthday celebration.  Really looking forward to spending some time together.  She and I have known each other over 30 years - good grief.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.