Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

A promise

...that summer will come again.

Torrential rains today which are causing massive flooding since the ground is still pretty much frozen solid.  Not a fun day to be outside so I thought I'd try a new piece of kit I just got, a clamp with a twisty arm, and photograph an empty monarch chrysalis that I saved from last summer.  Set up the clamp, holding the dried bit of milkweed with the chrysalis, in my soft box and just used natural light from the window.  Used my "nifty fifty" lens just because it was 1) handy and 2) didn't require setting up a tripod.  Bit of a crop and some quick adjustments in LR and it's a wrap.

Hubs and I went to the gym, navigating flooded roads to get there.  The temps today are in the mid 50's F but plunging below freezing tonight so by tomorrow morning, the roads will be like ice rinks.  Making me glad we don't have to commute, although SIL will need to get about 6 miles to work in the morning.  

As for me, I'm going to look at this photo and remember that summer will eventually come again, complete with birds and butterflies and all the creepy-crawly things I love to photograph!

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.