Arachne

By Arachne

Glass (day 5)

I know I said I'd try for a glass-free blip today, but I wasn't expecting to walk into a loo like this. And since I probably never will again...

It's in a London restaurant where my mum, my sister, one brother and the next generation of cousins met today as we won't all be together at Christmas. One cousin phoned as we assembled to ask what time we were meeting. He'd just woken. Another had decided that '11.30 is an ungodly hour' to be up and out on a Saturday, and had then - oops - caught the slow train. (Both finally arrived and ate what we'd saved for them.)

I'd caught a train at an even more ungodly hour. As we went past Didcot power station glowing orange in the early sun I had another of many tries at getting some pictures. I was lucky to be in an antique train with windows that opened so, unusually, this picture doesn't have reflections in the way. The speed of the train blurred the trees in the foreground but I was pleased that the towers and pylons are distant enough to be fairly clear. I love this power station and will spend a day there before it is decommissioned next March prior to demolition.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.