The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Things happen after a Badedas bath

...as my mother used to say, referring to a rather cheesy advert of the 1970s. What actually happened after my bath was that the headache went away. It has now come back after an annoying task and an evening of stressing over the paying of rail tickets for a family member.

After choosing a Christmas tree at the farm shop and collecting my books at the end of the book exhibition, I moseyed around town and went back to the church where the mini Christmas trees are displayed. I got some good-enough shots, but am blipping this street scene as it has a One Street theme.

My walk home takes me via Lower Street, which is low and shadowy, with some historic weavers' cottages where the cloth weavers of Stroud once worked from home. The roofs are steeply pitched to accommodate the height of a loom. A horse rider came down from the nearby Horns Farm stables just as I was going up. They go down to the junction of Middle Street and Lower Street, back up Middle Street and Horns Road to the farm, more than a mile away, so that the horse can get used to walking on fairly quiet, non central roads. Sometimes we see them in our road, too. It's not a common sight, but not uncommon either. I did not have time to focus or prepare myself, and the light was shadowy, with that great burst of colour in the distance. I have lightened the shadow, but it is still not great. The comic effect worked well on this shot, but I can't use effects all the time, according to my own rules....?

What actually went through my mind once I had caught the moment were the words of a song I learned in Irish at my first school! Clip clop, clip clop, clip clop na gcopaleen...

The advert

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.