Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

A long happy day

I left this morning to drive the two hours to Summerville to meet with my friend Nell who I haven't seen in a little over a year.  We had a really good lunch..the place has soup samplers!   They had seven home made soups on the menu and I could not not decide but I saw the sampler thing and asked the waitress..she said they bring three choices out in tiny teacups..about four tablespoons worth.  So yeah!  I got roasted red pepper coconut (my favorite), tomato bisque with crab meat and potato soup with fresh broccoli and cheese.  They were all good!   And my half a sandwich was great also..the croissant was freshly made!  Yummy!    It was really great seeing Nell also...she tried to talk me into going on a Mediterranean Cruise with her next spring!     Nope!   Too much to see in the US.   

Nell and I walked around in the little square of Summerville for a bit and then I made my way to White Point Garden which is on the harbor at Charleston.   I was really praying that I would find a parking spot...it is all parallel parking which I am really really bad at since we don't have to do that much where I live. It was Saturday and the weather was perfect so I knew people would be all over those narrow streets  in Charleston.  SomeONE was listening as a found a double space that I could pull right into about 2 short blocks from the park.  I had a few minutes to take some photos of the old homes along East Bay before I had to meet my wedding party.    

When I got to the gazebo there were people there so I asked them if they were with Sonja and Ted.  Nope,  the lady said she and her hubby had renewed their wedding vows today for their 50th anniversary!!   He proposed to her in the gazebo!    She jokingly asked if I would take their photo as their family had only phone photos.  I said I sure would..the daughter had a business card with her email, so we were set.   Their three grown children were there along with her three best friends.  Made me happy!    I put their photo in the extras.

Then the real wedding party showed up.  Very small group..Sonja was nervous and a little weepy.  Ted was cool!    I took many photos that I think they will be happy with..especially since they had none but cell phones planned.      Sonja looked lovely in short lacy dress with the little flower thing in her hair.   Posting the kiss..it was such a sweet moment!

It was after 5 when we finished up so I walked around more on the streets near the park watching the light.  When I came back around to the park, I could tell the sunset was going to be spectacular so I stayed!  Obviously the park is southwest facing instead of east facing like I assumed it would be because the Atlantic is in the east.  Glad I was wrong!  A photo of the sunset is in the extras too.     

A long 12 hour day!   I still need to look at all the photos since I just pick a couple to look at for my post!      Tomorrow!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.