The sun had risen

...by the time I woke this morning, and was ready to head out for my run.

I went out to the small triangle at the cliff edge, where I could see the sun as a bright orange ball above the headland south of Algies Bay. This photo captures the sun just as a huge flare, although there is a track of gold in the water of the bay.

I ran along the full length of Snells Beach. There were probably more herons to be seen than during a run yesterday evening, although then I had the pleasure of seeing a dozen in one large group at the southern end of the beach. Today there was at least twice as many, but they were more spread out.

Because of the state of the tide, they were just a little far away for me to get a decent picture using the little camera. I resisted walking into the water and silt as the road shoes I was wearing have mesh in the middle of the sole, and so much small grained sand gets in its a bother to my skin; can rub it raw.

As I reached the northern end of the path, there was a heron standing there, with a metre long twig in its beak. As I struggled to get the camera out, it flew off, but only to the nearby sand, and it then walked up a small creek, and as I watched it flew up into one of the tall pine trees growing there. Then to another, and finally a bit higher into a third tree, where there was a nest. Presumably still being built.

Another day of reading. And more reading. Stopped a while ago, and did a bit of work in the new garden we are developing. "Hoed" the potatoes, was one task. Be interesting to see how well they do.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.