Wound up in Wexford

By Neatwithice

That's what the rock feature is for

We woke to rain again, but by the time we'd eaten our Sunday poached eggs, it had cleared up, and we spent a couple of hours in the garden again.  W has dug yet another flower bed out of the lawn - it will no doubt feature later once we've planted it up (which might not be for a couple of months, as we're away to southern climes shortly), and also spent some time trying to make some repairs to our lawn.  We'll reseed it in the spring.

I re-organised one of our shady beds.  This was one of the first beds that I planted up after we moved in, but W was never happy.  I had left the soil level with the path, whereas he felt it should be below the level, so there was room to add mulch.  I had planted up hostas and ferns, but they had a tendency to sprawl over the path in the summer.  And the bed was in need of a general tidying up.

So I decided to remove most of the hostas and ferns - the hostas will go into pots, where they can be better protected from slug and snail damage.  Instead, we'll go for lower growing plants.  Now you can better see the hellebores, and I've added a couple of pulmonarias.

I need to do the same thing with the bed alongside the garage.

The new rock feature came in useful as a tool prop. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.