Haggis

I lived in the UK many years before I was brave enough to try haggis. Knowing I hated black pudding (yes, I’d tried it), I thought haggis would be something similar and so I avoided it for a long time. It’s best to not ask what’s in it, but boy, do I love it! Spicy and a bit nutty in flavour.

Much haggis is eaten today, the 25th of January, aka Burns Night - mostly by those in or from Scotland, as they celebrate the birth of their famous poet, Robert Burns. Neeps and Tatties - mashed swede (rutabaga to Americans) and mashed potatoes - accompany the haggis, along with whiskey, the playing of bagpipes and reading of Burn’s poetry. I didn’t go to a party and I skipped the whiskey, the pipes, and the poetry, but I did enjoy a traditional Burns Night meal - though with a MUCH smaller amount of haggis than these large ones seen at Waitrose this evening. Delicious!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.