WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Stacked

S got up before the crack of dawn to go on a walk near Trevélez. I spent a large chunk of the day making marmalade, having finally accumulated enough windfall bitter oranges from street trees(carefully selected in an area with no traffic). It took even longer than it might have done because after potting it I decided I had been over-optimistic and it was not set, so I had to tip it all out and boil it up again :-/ However we have just tried some with cheese, and the set is perfect. Marmalade is so labour-intensive though! At least I got to do the peel chopping in the outdoor kitchen.

In the late afternoon, the light looked lovely, so I decided to go for a walk on the beach. Our garden is quite sheltered, so I hadn't realised how windy it was -- I've never seen waves this big in Almuñecar. I had only intended a short stroll, but I ended up spending about 45 minutes mesmerised by the waves -- I love watching and listening to the sea. And of course I took dozens of photos. It is frustratingly difficult to predict the next big wave!

There was a family rather bravely playing in the waves; dad even went swimming. The sunset was not spectacular due to lack of clouds. I deleted the majority of my photos (using continuous shooting produces many duds!), but I still struggled to choose, preferring the abstract ones. Click right from here to see the spare blips.

S back, dinner was grazing on leftovers along with a glass or two of wine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.