Seeing Beyond Looking

By SandraSuisse

Mono Monday: Origin

My Blipfoto name is a very simple. It's my own first name and the name of my country of adoption: Switzerland.
The Latin name for Switzerland is Helvetia. You can see this word on my stamps, and on all Swiss stamps. So I wanted to combine my first name and the country I have lived in for many years. 
'Suisse' is simply the French version of Switzerland.
I have dual nationality: English and Swiss with two passports.

My father chose my name, but it was only when I found out the meaning of Sandra/Alexandra that I appreciated it. I like the fact that this name means: protector or helper of mankind.

Thank you to Jensphotos for hosting this challenge.

An extra note:
Confoederatio Helvetica (Helvetic Confederation) is the nation's full Latin name. That name is derived from the Celtic Helvetii people who first entered the area around 100 B.C. Helvetia was also the Roman name for the region that is now western Switzerland.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.