Chalk Farm Lane - Looking North

The weather has alternated between an overcast sky and sunshine; it is also cold and windy.

This morning as I looked out of the kitchen window I saw something I had not seen before. A Sparrow hawk swooped down onto the shrub where the feeders are, the little birds immediately moved into the middle of the bush. The Sparrow hawk then flew off, fortunately without any food. I have seen Sparrow hawks around, but this is the first time I have seen one attempt to attack the feeders. My camera was within inches of my hand, but it happened so quickly that I did not even have time to pick up the camera. There were ducks on the pond who decided they did not want to be blipped even for food and flew off immediately I went anywhere near them.

Today, nothing in the garden inspired me so I have taken another picture of my lane for the 'one street' project, this is looking North up the lane; it was taken from the edge of my garden, which can be seen here looking South.

The railway station is out of the shot on the left-hand side of the picture. It is very quiet today, because it is Sunday, but tomorrow there will be plenty of commuters using the lane. Many of them park further up the lane, on the verges, to avoid paying car parking fees. The commuters used to park on both sides of the lane, often blocking it, until the yellow lines, which took me three years of complaining, were painted. Some of the lines are now covered with leaves and in places these need repainting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.