Home & Away

By HeidiAndDolly

Cliveden House

It was back in the air again for me today. The sun was shining as we took off for Houston and I had a good view out of my office window. We soon passed over Cliveden House. Not the greatest shot and I had to crop it. I blipped this view once a long time ago. Cliveden is owned by the National Trust and is leased as a luxury hotel. Meghan Markle stayed there the night before she married Prince Harry last year.

In a previous blip about Cliveden I wrote:

Cliveden is owned by the National Trust and sits on over 375 acres of gardens and woodland overlooking the Thames near Maidenhead. It was once the home of Nancy Astor, an American born Member of Parliament, the first woman to be elected and to take her seat in Parliament. In the 1960s it was the main setting for the events of the Profumo affair which brought down the Conservative government in 1964.  

The main house is now run as an exclusive hotel but the grounds are open to the public, as are parts of the house on certain days.

Check out my Extra photo for another view out of my office window a few hours later - somewhere over northern Canada.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.